Nichido Final Powder Review

Setting my face with powder after foundation and/or concealer is a step I do not forget in my daily makeup routine. That is why it is important to me to have a trusty setting powder that I can count on for pretty much any occasion; and for anytime I may need it. In my stash, I only have ONE loose setting powder. I personally don’t find the need to collect or hoard too many setting powders; because they only do one thing: they set the face. That is why I tend to stick to one that works for me. The Nichido Final Powder is a drugstore loose setting powder that I have tried and tested; and it has successfully met my expectations. If you want to know more about this powder and why I love it, please keep reading. 🙂

PicsArt_1496211505049PicsArt_1496211553968

CRITERIA:

PACKAGING – Is it cute? Is the packaging too bulky or too flimsy or sturdy enough? Does it get dirty easily? Do I see myself travelling with it? Is it pretty enough to give as a gift to someone?

PERFORMANCE – Is it easy to use/apply? Does it blend easily? Is it beginner-friendly? Do I feel pretty whenever I wear it? Is the color match perfect?

LONGEVITY – Can I wear it for events? How about for extreme outdoor activities? How often do I need to reapply? Is the SPF high enough?

VARIETY – Is the shade selection wide? Do I see it working for different skin tones/colors?

VALUE FOR MONEY – If it is affordable, I have lower expectations but I prefer it over luxury/expensive products for which I have higher expectations. Would I repurchase it?

Product Name

CRITERIA

Packaging

Performance Longevity Variety Value for Money
Nichido Final Powder 4.5 4.5 4.75 5

5

 

Overall Rating: 4.75/5

PACKAGING – The powder is in a typical loose powder packaging. You can see the color/shade and amount of powder through the transparent plastic body. The cap is black with “NICHIDO” printed on the top. I like the sleek and straightforward packaging. You can also see the name of the shade (Creamy Glow) and amount of product (25g) at the bottom of the tub. Other information can be seen on the box or carton it comes with. It is not messy and it has the right amount of holes where the powder comes out. Personally, I would never travel with loose powders in this type of packaging. I find them taking up too much space in my makeup bag or purse and I need to go through so much trouble just to get product (with a brush/puff/sponge) and then apply it onto my face. When I travel, I think of traveling light. Even when I decide to bring this, I don’t think I’ll ever reach for it. I might change my mind though, considering some brands offer deluxe/sample sizes of their loose powders; (like Laura Mercier) and some have loose powders that have less product. (5-10g) But for now, I prefer bringing pressed powders for travel.

PERFORMANCE – I think this is the perfect beginner or “just starting out with makeup” loose powder. The price, finish, longevity and ease of application of this product are amazing. It is not intimidating for beginners and it can be used both for setting and baking the face. It does not look cakey and in my experience, it does not have a white cast. (when setting, NOT baking) The shade Creamy Glow is the perfect shade for light-medium skin tones. This powder did not break me out or caused me to have skin irritations.

LONGEVITY – This powder lasts a decent amount of time on my face. It lasts for about 6 hours before some of my face oils (esp. on my nose) start peeking through. However, it does not look cakey when I reapply or do touch ups. This powder does not contain SPF, which is not a con for me because I ALWAYS apply a separate sunscreen during the day. And of course, during events or at night, I skip the SPF in almost all of my makeup products. (esp. for undereye concealer and powder to avoid white cast)

VARIETY – The Nichido Final Powder comes in 5 shades. (Ivory Glow, Pink Glow, Creamy Glow, So Natural and Go Bronze) For a setting powder, I think that is a good shade range. Normally, when using a setting powder, we expect it to adapt to our natural skin tone or color and we rarely look for coverage. That’s why I like that this line has enough shades for different skin tones and undertones. Some bloggers and Youtubers also say that the Ivory Glow shadeis a dupe for the Laura Mercier translucent setting powder. I can neither agree nor disagree because I don’t have the LM one. (I might never be able to afford that one. Hehe)

VALUE FOR MONEY – 150 pesos for a high quality loose setting powder? Give me ten! 😀 Kidding aside, I really enjoy using this powder. It is a staple in my everyday routine and is probably my holy grail powder! Everything about this powder is just so good! 100% would recommend! 100% would repurchase! 🙂

Need I say more? 😉 I HIGHLY recommend this powder for everyone! What are you waiting for? Go to your nearest Watsons branch or SM Department store and snag this amazing drugstore find! 🙂

That’s all for today’s product review! Please check out my latest Skin Care post as well. 🙂 I love you guys! Have a great day! See you in my next post! Annyeong! :*

Leave a Reply

