NARS Single Blush Review

We are often curious if an expensive product is really worth buying. We want to make sure that we are getting a bang for our buck and that we’ll not regret purchasing those fancy expensive or luxury products. NARS is a high end cosmetics brand and to be honest, I cannot afford their products. However, after careful contemplation, I decided to purchase one myself. And here’s my review for my NARS single blush in one of the controversial shades, Deep Throat. *wink wink* If you’re interested, keep reading. 🙂

PicsArt_1492423350591PicsArt_1492423415227PicsArt_1492423461299

CRITERIA:

PACKAGING – Is it cute? Is the packaging too bulky or too flimsy or sturdy enough? Does it get dirty easily? Do I see myself travelling with it? Is it pretty enough to give as a gift to someone?

PERFORMANCE – Is it easy to use/apply? Does it blend easily? Is it beginner-friendly? Do I feel pretty whenever I wear it? Is the color match perfect?

LONGEVITY – Can I wear it for events? How about for extreme outdoor activities? How often do I need to reapply? Is the SPF high enough?

VARIETY – Is the shade selection wide? Do I see it working for different skin tones/colors?

VALUE FOR MONEY – If it is affordable, I have lower expectations but I prefer it over luxury/expensive products for which I have higher expectations. Would I repurchase it?

Product Name

CRITERIA

Packaging Performance Longevity Variety Value for Money
NARS Single Blush 4.5 4.5 4.25 5

3.5

 

Overall Rating: 4.35/5

PACKAGING – The blush is housed in a compact that has a rubbery surface. This is the only blush I own that has this type of packaging. It makes the blush look more high end (which it is) and feel heavier and stronger. Every time I pull this blush out from my collection, I can feel the weight of the compact itself. However, the compact easily gets dirty (the rubbery surface catches dirt and makeup residue more easily); and there will come a time (after 2-3 years) when the surface will get completely dirty and the only way to clean it is using makeup remover or cleansing oil. This may rub off the rubbery surface of the compact, which is not completely bad unless you’re really after NARS’s unique compact packaging. I just try to be extra careful when using and storing this blush so it won’t get dirty easily. 🙂

PERFORMANCE – The blush is fairly pigmented and easy to use. It is not too powdery and chalky; and it is not too stiff either. I could easily pick up product with my blush brush without tapping off excess powder. The shade “Deep Throat” 😉 (LOL what a name. Good one, NARS.) is a peachy pink (more pink than peach) blush with a slight golden sheen (not chunky). It is not too shimmery or glittery. It is a perfect “everyday” blush that goes well with any eye and lip makeup. When I first got this blush, I did not expect to like it that much because I prefer more peachy and orangey blushes. (My skin has a yellow/warm undertone so warm tone blushes suit me better.) However, I also want to experiment with other eye looks; (esp. cool and pinky eyeshadows) and orangey/warm blushes do not usually go with those types of looks. At the same time, I need it to be not too pink/cool-toned so it won’t look too fake/unnatural on my skin. This shade is just perfect. I don’t think I even need to buy the shade “Orgasm” (Again, NARS, what a name.) for myself because this shade (Deep Throat) is everything I’m looking for in a pink shimmery blush. I usually prefer matte blushes but this is the only shimmery (non-baked) blush that I keep using. 🙂 The only reason I did not give this a perfect score is that I own cheaper drugstore blushes that perform the same way. I did not see this blush outperforming them in any way. Don’t get me wrong, I loooooove this blush. I just think it is not entirely necessary to purchase this blush ASAP because the quality is unparalleled. There are a lot of gorgeous blushes from the drugstore that have the same quality, pigmentation and blendability as the NARS blushes. 🙂

LONGEVITY – This is a blush I can definitely use for events and special occasions. Even if I apply a small amount, it sill lasts long on my cheeks. (8 hours or more) I think it’s because the powder itself is finely milled and not too chalky. It adheres better to the skin and stays there all day. It also doesn’t wear off in patches. This blush is not waterproof  (It doesn’t claim to be so.) and does not contain SPF. It also does not claim to be long wearing but since it is an expensive product, I expect it to be. 😀 (and it met my expectations)

VARIETY – The NARS single blush comes in 30 different shades. (Visit http://www.narscosmetics.com/ for a list of complete shades.) You’ll definitely find the blush color you’ll looking for in the finish that you prefer from their range. They also have cream and stick blushes; as well as bronzer & blush and highlighter & blush duos. Also, watch out for their limited edition packaging/shades and collaborations with different makeup artists or personalities if you want to expand your collection or if you simply want pretty packaging. 😀

VALUE FOR MONEY – Here in the Philippines, the NARS blushes cost around PHP1600 each. They are VERY expensive; but you can get them at a much cheaper price online or from legitimate sellers of imported makeup. (bought mine for 700 pesos plus shipping fee from a trusted inline seller) Just be careful when purchasing online, especially if it’s your first time. ALWAYS check the legitimacy of the seller and the products they sell. It’s better to ask your friends or relatives who already made online purchases, or better yet, just ask your friends and relatives who are living or traveling abroad to buy the products for you. 😉

 

ON MY FACE:

Cheek Swatch: (a very light application)

PicsArt_1492580864465

After applying the rest of my makeup: (After 0 hours)

PicsArt_1492580927197

Getting a little bit too close for comfort 😀

PicsArt_1492581079184

*Note: My face looks pale and almost ghostly; but I swear it doesn’t look like that in person. I just applied too much SPF that day. 😀 (SPF50 sunscreen + SPF50 CC cushion, yes, I definitely needed THAT MUCH sunscreen.)

After 8 hours:

PicsArt_1492581211973PicsArt_1492581271888PicsArt_1492581324399

The color and the sheen are still there. Good job, NARS! 🙂

*See my Blush Collection 2016 for more blush recommendations. 🙂

Overall, I think that the NARS blushes are worth purchasing if you have the extra money to spend for buying makeup, or if you’re looking for a good quality high end blush that you can never go wrong with. Go ahead, treat yourself. You’re worth it. 😉 That’s all for my review, loves! ❤ See you in my next one. Annyeong! :*

 

Leave a Reply

