Milani Baked Blush Review

PicsArt_1491548231052

PicsArt_1491547839380

CRITERIA:

PACKAGING – Is it cute? Is the packaging too bulky or too flimsy or sturdy enough? Does it get dirty easily? Do I see myself travelling with it? Is it pretty enough to give as a gift to someone?

PERFORMANCE – Is it easy to use/apply? Does it blend easily? Is it beginner-friendly? Do I feel pretty whenever I wear it? Is the color match perfect?

LONGEVITY – Can I wear it for events? How about for extreme outdoor activities? How often do I need to reapply? Is the SPF high enough?

VARIETY – Is the shade selection wide? Do I see it working for different skin tones/colors?

VALUE FOR MONEY – If it is affordable, I have lower expectations but I prefer it over luxury/expensive products for which I have higher expectations. Would I repurchase it?

Product Name CRITERIA
Packaging Performance Longevity Variety Value for Money
Milani Baked Blush 4.75 4.5 4.5 4 4.75

 

Overall Rating: 4.5/5

PACKAGING – The blush is housed in a nice compact with some gold details on the packaging and a semi-transparent lid where you can see the color or shade underneath. It also comes with its own mirror and brush (which I never use for blush because it’s flat) Overall I really like the packaging because it looks fancy for a drugstore product, with all the gold details. It is a bit bulkier than other compact products because it is a baked blush. Baked products (blushes, highlighters or eyeshadows) are dome-shaped so they take up more space in the actual compacts. I personally don’t mind such packaging because it is sturdy and travel-friendly. Aside from the useless brush, I did not have any other issue with the packaging. By the way, the mirror can be found at the bottom of the blush itself instead of at the top of the compact so that can be a bit of a hassle for some. I don’t mind it because I rarely even use mirrors in compacts unless they are very big. (like palettes)

PERFORMANCE – I like how easy this blush applies on the cheeks. A little goes a long way because baked products are generally more pigmented and less chalky/powdery than other powder products. The two shades I own (Luminoso and Berry Amore) are warm-toned and are more on the peachy/orangey/coral side. If you dislike warm or orangey blushes, you won’t like these two shades either. Don’t be fooled by the “berry” in Berry Amore. It is a shimmery coral blush. Luminoso is just lighter and has more shimmer. When using this blush, I don’t reach for a highlighter anymore because this blush already gives a subtle glow. These blushes are also blendable and buildable; and do not apply patchy on the cheeks. I love both shades that I own.

LONGEVITY – This blush lasts a decent amount of time. It starts to fade after six hours; but considering that I applied a very little amount on my cheeks, the lasting power is really good. It also fades evenly and does not wear off in patches. I don’t really need to reapply even after six to eight hours because it leaves a nice subtle glow on my cheeks. While some cheek products contain SPF, the Milani baked blushes do not.

VARIETY – The Milani Baked Blush line has 9 shades when it first launched. Now they added two more shades to the line. They have a good selection of shades but they do not offer a lot of matte shades. According to the website, there are only two matte shades. (Delizioso Pink – light pink and Bella Rosa – dark raspberry pink) The rest are shimmery.

VALUE FOR MONEY – These blushes cost around 370-420 pesos, depending on where you get them from. I bought mine online for preorder at makeupinboxph.com but there are online sellers that have these onhand. (Check them out at Shopee PH) You can also buy them from boutiques and bazaars; but so far there are no Milani kiosks in the Philippines yet.

 

Here is a picture of me wearing Luminoso on my cheeks:

Blush

*Featured in : Makeup in Action 1

*See my other blushes and My Blush Collection 2016

2 thoughts on “Milani Baked Blush Review

Leave a comment