Tony Moly Face Mix Cover Pot Concealer Review

Hey loves! 🙂 In this post, I will be sharing my review of the Tony moly Face Mix Cover Pot Concealer. This was the first ever concealer I purchased and I’m quite proud of myself for choosing the right shade (out of two mehehe) and still holding on to this product ever since I bought it. I think that already says a lot about the product and how I fell about it but let’s get on with the review: 🙂

CRITERIA:

PACKAGING – Is it cute? Is the packaging too bulky or too flimsy or sturdy enough? Does it get dirty easily? Do I see myself travelling with it? Is it pretty enough to give as a gift to someone?

PERFORMANCE – Is it easy to use/apply? Does it blend easily? Is it beginner-friendly? Do I feel pretty whenever I wear it? Is the color match perfect?

LONGEVITY – Can I wear it for events? How about for extreme outdoor activities? How often do I need to reapply? Is the SPF high enough?

VARIETY – Is the shade selection wide? Do I see it working for different skin tones/colors?

VALUE FOR MONEY – If it is affordable, I have lower expectations but I prefer it over luxury/expensive products for which I have higher expectations. Would I repurchase it?

Product Name CRITERIA
Packaging Performance Longevity Variety Value for Money
Tony moly Face Mix Cover Pot Concealer 4.5 4 4 3 4.5

 

Overall Rating: 4/5

PicsArt_1490591253432

PACKAGING – It obviously comes in a glass pot packaging which is not the most hygienic and ideal way of packaging concealers; but pot concealers are packaged such because of their formula. They are much thicker and more concentrated than other concealers. I personally don’t mind the packaging because all my makeup are for personal use. (I don’t share my makeup, except to my mom; but she rarely borrows my makeup so we’re good!) I still think it’s ideal for travel because it is small and thin. It is not bulky at all and I won’t worry about my concealer spilling everywhere because it is in a pot. Also, I like that the cap closes really tightly so the concealer won’t dry out as well.

PERFORMANCE – The concealer I easy to use and apply. I just dip my fingers into the pot, get some product, and apply it onto my face. I then use a beauty sponge or cushion puff to blend it out. (not necessary, using fingers to blend works well too) I find this method to be the best and most ideal for me because it ensures that enough product gets applied and blended onto my face. I tried using a brush but because the product is thick, it’s much harder to blend it out that way. (It’ll blend but prepare to do some bicep and tricep workout.) By the way, I just use this concealer for blemishes, dark spots and pimples because I tried using it once under my eyes and IT JUST CREASED WAY TOO BAD! I’m never going to do that again. It works well for blemishes and hides them without emphasizing my dry patches and flakiness of my skin. (except if my face is peeling really bad) It doesn’t say if it has SPF. The scent is not that good. It smells like plastic or chemicals. The scent fades away right after I apply it so I don’t mind it anymore. The shade 02 is the right shade for me. It is a good match, if not just a tiny bit lighter than my skin. I don’t mind it because I use brightening bases and cushion foundations anyway.

LONGEVITY – Once blended onto the skin, the concealer looks good. It hides my blemishes really well and looks like it will stay like that for hours. However, this concealer is not long lasting. It starts to wear off after about 4 hours, whether I stay indoors or I go out. The coverage just starts to wear off and fade away; which sucks because it is a concealer. It is supposed to “conceal” and hide those blemishes for as long as I wear it. Unfortunately, this product falls short in this category. It might still be ideal if I want to quickly conceal some of my blemishes and go out of the house to run some errands, or buy groceries. But for events, I would not recommend it.

VARIETY – Unfortunately, this concealer only comes in two shades (01 Light Beige and 02 Natural Beige); which is typical for most Korean brands. If you are darker than NC30, you will not find a shade that will match you in this line. This always makes me sad because most Filipinas have beautiful “morena” or tanned skin tone; but they can’t try a lot of these amazing Korean base products (foundations, cushions, BB and CC creams) just because they can’t find a shade that matches them. 😦 I hope Korean brands will expand on their shade range because the whole world needs to know about these great Korean products. Jebalyoooooo~

VALUE FOR MONEY – For 248 pesos a pop, this is a steal! Normally, pot concealers last longer than liquid and cream ones because they are thicker in consistency; therefore a little goes a long way. I also recommend using this only for the face (for blemishes and pimples) and not for the undereye area because it has a tendency to crease. And because this concealer is only for spot concealing, it will last even longer. 🙂

On the Face:

Before

Before (no makeup on, just sunscreen)

Concealer-before 2

A closer look at my face and my blemishes

No concealer, just cushion (The Face Shop CC Ultra Moist Cushion – review to be posted soon)

Cushion and concealer (see how it canceled out all the redness and completely covered my blemishes)

After makeup

After applying the rest of my makeup (After 0 hours)

PicsArt_1491400536515

After 8 hours (indoor lighting)

PicsArt_1491400479394

After 8 hours (see how my blemishes and the redness are already peeking through)

PicsArt_1491400650716

After 8 hours (The little red pimples on the left side of my forehead are already visible.)

Note: I stayed indoors most of the time so this day was not the perfect time to test the longevity of this concealer. However, if the redness and the blemishes on my face are already peeking through after 8 hours of wear despite staying indoors, I think that says a lot about how it will last if I went out and commute like I normally do.

There you go! That is my review of the Tony moly Face Mix Cover Pot concealer. I hope you liked it. I’ll be reviewing more and more makeup products so I hope you stay tuned for that. I hope you guys are having a great day and I’ll see you in my next post. Stay happy and healthy. Annyeong! :*

One thought on “Tony Moly Face Mix Cover Pot Concealer Review

Leave a Reply

