Dead Skin, Out: Skinfood Black Sugar Mask Wash-Off Review

          Sugar, yes please!~ 

Hey loves! ❤ Last time, I talked about all my cleansers and reviewed all of them. For this post, I’ll talk about my Skinfood Black Sugar Mask Wash-Off. It is a face scrub/exfoliator and falls under the second step of the 10-Step Korean Skin Care Routine. I will give my thoughts about this product and also insert some pictures to demonstrate how I use it on my face.

Let’s get started! 🙂

PicsArt_1482128236522(1) 

Ingredients & Directions:

PicsArt_1490590648481

Yes! Sucrose (table sugar) is the number 1 ingredient! 🙂

Now, on to the review. 🙂

CRITERIA:

PACKAGING – Is the packaging pretty enough to give as a gift to someone? Is it fragile? Is it sturdy or flimsy? Is it bulky or travel-friendly? Does it get dirty easily? Is it hygienic?

PERFORMANCE – Is it easy to use/apply? Are the instructions easy to follow? To whom do I particularly recommend this product? (dry, normal, combination, oily, sensitive, acne-prone, troubled, mature, wrinkled skin, men)

LONG TERM USE – Will I use it again or continuously? Will I repurchase it once I run out? Are there long-term skin benefits?

VARIETY – Are there enough choices or variants for everyone? If it is a product for a specific skin type, does it perform well?

VALUE FOR MONEY – In skin care, it does not matter whether the price is high or low; as long as the product works for one’s specific skin needs and/or preferences. But! 🙂 Of course I prefer more affordable brands. 😉 Also, it helps if the brand offers samples or deluxe sizes of their products so people can try it first before committing on the full size. 🙂

 

Product Name

CRITERIA

Packaging Performance Long Term Use Variety Value for Money
Skinfood Black Sugar Mask Wash-Off 4.75 4.5 5 5 5

 

Overall Rating: 4.85/5 ❤ ❤ ❤

PACKAGING – The sugar scrub is packaged in a thick plastic tub. Packaging is sturdy enough and even if I already dropped it twice on the floor, it still survived without cracking or breaking. 😉 It is not too travel-friendly but since the tub is made of plastic instead of glass, it is not fragile. It is also not too heavy, so it’s nice for travel. But since it contains 100mL of product, it is a bit bulky. You can get samples of this when you buy at Skinfood so you can just bring those for travel. My only concern is there is no spatula in the product. I do have my own spatulas that I can use but I see this as a problem for people who don’t have or use spatulas for their skin care or makeup products and just rely on the product itself and what’s inside it. There is also the risk of bacteria getting into the tub and the product more easily but I don’t consider this a huge problem because all my skin care products are for personal use only. I don’t share them, especially if they are packaged like this.

PERFORMANCE – The scrub is fairly easy to use and apply on the skin. The instructions are also easy to follow because they are written on the packaging itself. (And they’re in English too, even if this is a Korean brand.) I try to not use a lot because it easily spreads on my entire face and a little goes a long way for this product. After applying some product onto the face, (focusing on the center and on my nose) I rub and scrub continuously while keeping my hands wet with water (so it’s not too abrasive on the skin) until the sugar crystals fully dissolve and I am left with a thin layer of “caramel mask” on my face. ^_^ Seriously, this product smells and tastes so good! 😀 (I do not recommend eating this though.) Then I let it sit on my face for 10-15 minutes before rinsing it off. (You can go for 20 if you have more time in your hands or if you have oilier skin.) Using this product always makes me feel good, like I’m doing something really good for my skin. It really exfoliates, removes dead skin cells and makes my skin visibly brighter and smoother. I use this product once a week. (preferably on a Friday, when it’s time to rejoice because… WEEKEND!) Everytime I use it, my skin feels so smooth; and all the other skin care products I apply after using this mask just glide and apply so smoothly on my skin. (I use it ONLY once a week.) It’s just like I have a renewed and rejuvenated face. It also gets rid of (some, not all) blackheads and makes my nose feel so smooth. It’s definitely the perfect skin care product to use if you want to de-stress while giving your skin a sweet (quite literally) treat. 🙂 I recommend this to all skin types; but if you have very sensitive or troubled (acne) skin, you might not enjoy this product as much, because it might be too abrasive on the skin. Also, if you prefer gentler scrubs or even chemical exfoliators over manual exfoliators like this, you might want to skip this product. But overall, this is a really good exfoliator and it works well for me. 🙂

LONG TERM USE – With all the skin benefits I mentioned in the PERFORMANCE category, I definitely recommend this product for long-term use. (Need I say more?) 😉

VARIETY – The Skinfood Wash-Off Masks come in different variants. They have a lot in the Black Sugar line; but if you have drier skin, you might want to go for the Rice Wash-Off Mask.

 

VALUE FOR MONEY – This mask costs around 400 pesos at Shopee Philippines. It is quite affordable; and because it is also very effective in exfoliating the skin, I definitely think it is worth it. It does what it says it will do for my face and I’m quite satisfied with the results it gave so I’ll definitely recommend this and I’ll continue repurchasing this once I run out. I might also try the other variants, especially the Rice one. 🙂

 

Application & Usage:

(Prepare for an overwhelming number of selfies) 😀

Start with a clean face. Remove makeup and wash with soap or facial cleanser.

PicsArt_1490590783802

Apply product onto the face, focusing on the center and on areas that need to be exfoliated. (nose, cheeks, forehead, chin) You can also apply some on the lips. 🙂

PicsArt_1490590836209

Spread and rub the product gently all over the face until all the sugar crystals are dissolved. It helps if you keep your hands wet as you rub the product so it won’t be too harsh on the skin.

PicsArt_1490590902867

Let the product sit for 10-15 minutes.

 

Rinse everything off with water, and voila! 😀

            That’s everything for this post. I hope I was able to convince you to give this product a try; or at least take a look at Korean makeup and skin care brands because they are SO AWESOME! J And most of them are affordable too! Ever since I discovered Korean beauty products, I got hooked. There’s just no way out. 😉 I love all the products I’ve tried and I’ll continue using them because I’ve definitely seen good results. I’ll also continue to follow the10-Step Korean Skin Care Routine for as long as I live because it helped my skin a lot. I hope you can give it a try too. Thank you for reading through all this and I hope you are having a great day. Annyeong! :*

2 thoughts on “Dead Skin, Out: Skinfood Black Sugar Mask Wash-Off Review

Leave a Reply

