Milani Conceal + Perfect 2-in-1 Foundation + Concealer Review and Swatches

I do not wear foundation every single day of my life. In fact I don’t wear makeup every day. But when I do wear foundation, I want something that’s going to give me good coverage and feel lightweight at the same time. I am more of a BB cream/cushion type of girl so when it comes to foundations, it has to be really good for me to keep it in my collection and actually use it. Otherwise, I’ll just give or sell it to someone else. Fortunately, I think I have found a foundation that ticks all the boxes; and it is the Milani Conceal + Perfect 2-in-1 Foundation + Concealer. The following is my review of this specific foundation. If you want to know my thoughts about this foundation, keep reading. 🙂

 

CRITERIA:

PACKAGING – Is it cute? Is the packaging too bulky or too flimsy or sturdy enough? Does it get dirty easily? Do I see myself travelling with it? Is it pretty enough to give as a gift to someone?

PERFORMANCE – Is it easy to use/apply? Does it blend easily? Is it beginner-friendly? Do I feel pretty whenever I wear it? Is the color match perfect?

LONGEVITY – Can I wear it for events? How about for extreme outdoor activities? How often do I need to reapply? Is the SPF high enough?

VARIETY – Is the shade selection wide? Do I see it working for different skin tones/colors?

VALUE FOR MONEY – If it is affordable, I have lower expectations but I prefer it over luxury/expensive products for which I have higher expectations. Would I repurchase it?

Product Name CRITERIA
Packaging Performance Longevity Variety Value for Money
Milani Conceal + Perfect 2-in-1 Foundation + Concealer 5 4.5 5 5 5

Overall Rating: 4.9/5 AWESOOOOOOOOOME!!!

PACKAGING – The packaging is not too heavy or bulky; but it is not flimsy either. Foundation is housed in a glass bottle packaging that has a pump. It is travel-friendly because the bottle is not too large or wide and it is not too heavy. It contains 30ml/1oz. of product. All the information about the product is written on the bottle (ingredient list, claims, labels, shade name & number, manufacturing details, etc.) I would say that the packaging looks nice. It does not look cheap. In fact it looks like a high end foundation because of the packaging. (also the quality, but we’ll get there later) I like the black and gold details on the packaging and I love that it has a pump. It is sleek and very easy to use and pull out from my collection. It does not get dirty easily and it is very easy to clean. (Just wipe off the dust and/or foundation residue from the cap and pump areas.) 5/5. 10/10. 100/100. A++ for the packaging. 🙂

 

PERFORMANCE – Application is easy. From pumping the foundation out of the bottle (I use one pump max.) to application and blending onto the face, I have no issues with this foundation. I prefer using a blending sponge (mine is from Daiso) to apply and blend it because I just like a more “sheer” and “light” coverage from any of my base products. But even so, this foundation retains its medium to full coverage despite using a damp sponge to apply it. (which I like) Just imagine using a brush to apply this. (AMAZING COVERAGE!) Every time I wear this foundation, I do not use a concealer anymore. It lives up to its title. It is truly a 2-in-1 foundation and concealer. 🙂 With that said, I do not think that this is a foundation that I would wear on a daily basis. I would only wear this for special occasions, events, parties, concerts; basically anytime or anywhere I need a full coverage foundation that lasts. It does not contain SPF so it is safe for flash photography and/or photoshoots. It has a natural finish (not matte, not dewy) and is gorgeous once set with translucent powder. The shade I got is my exact shade. (02 Natural) My shade in MAC is between NC20-25 and the shade 02 from Milani is perfect for my skin tone. It might be a little bit darker (just a tiny tiny tiny bit) but once I have my full face done, it is perfect! It matches well with my neck and the rest of my body and it does not oxidixe. (on me) I deducted half a point because it is not good for everyday use.(It might be for some people but I personally would not recommend it. I tried using this for two consecutive days and on the third day, I had these tiny bumps on my skin which I believe are clogged pores because of the foundation. It does not happen if I just use it once and then use it again after maybe 3-4 days, just to give my skin some rest.

 

LONGEVITY – It lasts all day (on me) with little to no reapplication. Blotting the face might be needed once or twice during the day but I never felt the need to touch my face up with powder whenever I’m wearing this foundation. It does not get blotchy or patchy throughout the day and it does not wear off in patches on my skin. It does have minimal transfer but it’s nothing too bothering. It does not feel sticky and heavy at all on the skin despite the full coverage that it gives. There is minimal creasing under my eyes and on my smile lines; but to be honest, everything I put there creases anyway. The natural finish also stays all day but people with combination to oily skin might need to blot and touch up more often because it is not a matte foundation.

 

VARIETY – Milani came out with 14 shades for this foundation; and I think that is a wide range compared to other brands; especially those that launch here in the Philippines. (We don’t have Milani here in PH) However, I don’t think that people with really fair or porcelain skin will find their match from this line; because I own the second lightest shade and it suits MAC NC25 skin tone. That means shade 01 might only suit NC20 skin tone. Those who are lighter/fairer than that might not find their exact shade. They can use lightening drops or white foundation to mix in with this foundation to custom create their shade; which I recommend because the coverage of this foundation is really amazing and everybody NEEDS to try it. 🙂

 

VALUE FOR MONEY – I bought mine from Shopee Philippines for 460 pesos. (free shipping) Milani is a drugstore brand in the US and I believe this foundation costs $10 there – around 500 pesos. (more or less) I personally think this is a good deal. (It is cheaper than the Revlon Colorstay here in PH.) However, it can only be purchased online. Foundations are a bit tricky to purchase online because there are no testers to try out. I suggest Google-ing really hard and reading reviews and posts about this foundation to help you decide which shade to get for yourself.

 

CLAIMS:

picsart_1486791779313

It did live up to its claims, for me. 🙂

SWATCHES:

 

picsart_1486791897653

-thick formula, blends easily

picsart_1486791959836

-when blended, yellow undertone

picsart_1486792061670

-fully blended

picsart_1486879539515

 

WHEN WORN: (sorry for my face)

picsart_1487651857371

Left Side: bare face with blemishes and pimples

Right Side: with ONE layer of Milani foundation (applied with damp sponge)

picsart_1487651988854

Left Side: without foundation

Right Side: with foundation

picsart_1487652062879

With a full face of makeup (no lip color yet)

picsart_1487655230278

With a full face of makeup + lipstick :

(lip combo: Nichido Rosette lip liner + NYX Push Up Lip Lingerie)

picsart_1487673370689

After 5 hours (no retouch, just blotting with tissue)

(even the lipstick help up!)

After 8 hours (no retouch, just blotting with tissue)

(lip color is gone because I did lip swatches for another post)

 

There you go, that is my of the Milani Conceal + Perfect 2-in-1 Foundation + Concealer, which is currently my go-to/favorite foundation. I hope you liked this review and I’ll see you in my next post. Annyeong! :*

 

Leave a Reply

