My Top 20 K-Pop Groups (Personal List)

Hey loves! It is no secret that I am a die-hard K-Pop fan. I could go on and on about the songs, MVs and artists I like; but for this post I will list the groups that stood out to me. I will list my top 20 K-Pop groups and give a brief description of the groups and reasons why I love them! ❤ One thing’s for sure, these are all AMAZING groups and I recommend checking them out. 😉

TOP 20 K-POP GROUPS:

  1. SHINee

shinee

  • 5-member boy group
  • Members: Lee Jinki (Onew) -> leader, Kim Jonghyun, Kim Kibum (Key), Choi Minho, Lee Taemin
  • My Bias (favorite member of the group): Taemin -> also my UB (ultimate bias- favorite among all gorups and artists)
  • Bias-wrecker (tries to steal attention and heart from bias 😀 ): ALL FOUR OF THEM! GAHD THEY ARE JUST TOO PERFECT
  • Why you’ll love them: amazing dance and vocal skills, versatility as performers, stable vocals (UNBELIEVABLE), jaw-dropping choreography, members are multi-talented (singers, dancers, rappers, TV, movie and theater actors, radio DJs, composers, songwriters, choreographers, athletes, THEY CAN BE AND DO ANYTHING!) they can all go solo and still be awesome, comic and variety skills, (their Hello Baby-> Korean variety show IS GOLD!!!) strong bond as a team (constantly supporting one another)
  • Songs I recommend: Replay -> debut song, Lucifer, Ring Ding Dong, Hello, View, Married to the Music, 1 of 1 and ALL THEIR BALLADS (SOOOOOOO GOOD!) -> If You love Her, Selene 6.23, Romantic, Life, Don’t Let Me Go, An Ode To You, and a lot more! 🙂
  • Fan club name: SHAWOL (English translation: SHINee World, Romanization: “SHA-I-Nee WOL-deu” -> taking the first syllables, SHAWOL) – if you are a ShaWol, you might be interested in reading my heartfelt letter to all my fellow ShaWols in the world.

 

  1. Big Bang

bigbang

  • 5-member boy group
  • Members: Kwon Jiyong (G-Dragon) -> leader, Choi Seunghyun (TOP), Dong  Youngbae (Taeyang), Kang Daesung (D-Lite), Lee Seunghyun (Seungri)
  • My Bias: G-Dragon
  • Bias-wrecker: TOP (DAT STARE, DAT STANCE, DAT FACE, DAT HEIGHT, DAT… OH MY GOD!)
  • Why you’ll love them: UHM HELLOOOOOO? THEY ARE BIG BANG! They are world stars, excellent performers, ALL members are successful solo artists, ALL of them write and compose songs, they are KINGS, they are LEGENDS, (singers, dancers, rappers, songwriters, composers, actors, hosts, MCs, supermodels, endorsers, the list goes on) while remaining humble and grateful despite their popularity J
  • Songs I recommend: Lies, Haru Haru (Everyday) Bad Boy, Blue, Fantastic Baby, Bang Bang Bang, Loser, Last Dance, GD’s That XX, Taeyang’s Wedding Dress, GDTOP’s Don’t Go Home & Baby Good Night
  • Fan club name: VIP (Very Important People/Person, need I say more?)

 

  1. SS501

ss501

  • 5-member boy group
  • Members: Kim Hyunjoong -> leader, Heo Youngsaeng, Kim Kyujong, Park Jungmin, Kim Hyungjoon
  • My Bias: Kim Kyujong
  • Bias-wrecker: Kim Hyunjoong (he’s easily everybody’s bias but I like him more as an actor, Kyujong’s my favorite in the group, but I love KHJ!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ )
  • Why you’ll love them: THEY’RE FREAKING LEGENDS, C’MON! They’re one of the best K-Pop acts, EVER. Just check them out, you won’t regret it.
  • Songs I recommend: ALL their songs are great imo, but my ultimate faves are: Wasteland, A Song Calling For You, Only One Day, Let Me Be The One, Love Like This, Love Ya and Snow Prince
  • Fan club name: Triple S (Super Star Supporters, ain’t that cute?)

 

  1. GOT7

got7

  • 7-member boy group
  • Members: Im Jaebum (JB) -> leader, Mark Tuan (Mark), Wang Jackson, Park Jinyoung (Junior), Choi Youngjare, Kunpimook Bhuwakul (Bambam), Kim Yugyeom
  • My Bias: Mark (but why choose one when you GOT7? Get it? 😀 )
  • Bias-wrecker: Junior (OMG WHEN HE HELD MY HAND AT THE FANMEETING I ALMOST DIED)
  • Why you’ll love them: They’re one of the new generation groups but definitely one of the best. I like that they are a unique and interesting group due to the different nationalities of the members. They are multi-talented as well (singers, dancers, rappers, martial artists, break dancers, choreographers, songwriters, composers, actors, athletes, and many more.
  • Songs I recommend: Playground, Forever Young, Neoran Girl (Magnetic) If You Do, Just Right, Hard Carry, JJP’s (JJ Project -> Jaebum & Jinyoung) Bounce
  • Fan club name: IGOT7/Ahgases

 

  1. B1A4

b1a4

  • 5-member boy group
  • Members: Jun Jinyoung -> leader, Shin Dongwoo (CNU), Lee Junghwan (Sandeul), Cha Sunwoo (Baro), Gong Chansik (Gongchan)
  • My Bias: Gongchan (he’s so dreamyyyy)
  • Bias-wrecker: Jinyoung (THIS GUY IS THE DEFINITION OF PERFECTION!)
  • Why you’ll love them: Aside from having an interesting name, (B1A4 stands for their blood types, Baro is the only Type B and all the rest are Type A) they are a very talented group. They were underrated but I’m glad that they are receiving more attention now. They are multitalented as well. (singers, dancers, rappers, songwriters (OMG JINYOUNG), composers (OMG JINYOUNG), TV and theater actors, athletes, and many more) Sandeul’s solo was successful as well and I hope this group becomes even more successful because they deserve it. Also, Jinyoung deserves to be noticed and loved by everybody. The guy works twice or even thrice as hard as everyone else. He’s a gem. He must be protected. 🙂
  • Songs I recommend: Tried To Walk, Baby Good Night, Lonely, Solo Day, Sweet Girl, A Lie
  • Fan club name: BANA (from “Banada”, which means falling for each other. That’s soooooooo sweeeeeeeet!)

 

  1. B2ST/Beast

beast

  • 6-member (now 5) boy group
  • Members: Yoon Doojoon -> leader, Jang Hyunseung (member until 2016), Yong Jae Soon (Junhyung), Yang Yoseob, Lee Kikwang, Son Dongwoon
  • My Bias: Kikwang
  • Bias-wrecker: Yoseob (power belter YEA!)
  • Why you’ll love them: I have to admit, I only started following them this year (2016) and it makes me so sad that they lost a member. I knew about them a couple years ago but I was so busy obsessing over SHINee and Big Bang that I slept on this awesome group. Now, I love them to bits! They are not only K-Pop idols but also composers, songwriters, athletes, TV actors, break dancers and hosts. They are cute dorks but fierce athletes and great performers. And I love Kikwang! ❤ ❤ ❤
  • Songs I recommend: Ribbon, Butterfly, Fiction, Shock, Beautiful Night, Yey, Troublemaker’s (Hyuna- 4minute and Hyunseung) Troublemaker and Now
  • Fan club name: B2UTY/Beauty (from Beauty and the Beast, OMG that’s so adorable!)

 

  1. Boyfriend

boyfriend

  • 6-member boy group
  • Members: Kim Donghyun -> leader, Shim Hyunseong, Lee Jeongmin, Jo twins (Jo Youngmin and Jo Kwangmin),No Minwoo
  • My Bias: Youngmin
  • Bias-wrecker: Kwangmin (Truth is most of the time, I don’t know who is who among the twins, so I like them both! I like Youngmin just a tiny bit more. 🙂 )
  • Why you’ll love them: another very talented but underrated group, both vocal (hyung-> older brothers) and dance (maknae-> youngest members) lines are great, there’s so much potential for this group but their company lets it all go to waste. I just don’t want them to disband. 😦
  • Songs I recommend: Boyfriend -> debut song, Bounce, Witch, Janus, I’ll Be There, Don’t Touch my Girl
  • Fan club name: Bestfriend

 

  1. Sistar

sistar

  • 4-member girl group (first on the list!)
  • Members: Kim Hyojung (Hyorin) -> leader, Yoon Bora, Kang Jihyun (Soyou), Kim Dasom
  • My Bias: Dasom (SO PRETTYYYYYY)
  • Bias-wrecker: Bora (DAAAAANG SO HOT!)
  • Why you’ll love them: Despite being one of the groups with the most unfair line distributions for their songs, I still love this group. They are best known for their sexy concepts but I think they are the best when it comes to that. They just nail it. All. The. Time. ❤
  • Songs I recommend: Ma Boy and Gone Not Around Any Longer (from sub-unit Sistar 19), Alone, Give It To Me, I Swear, Shake It, I Like That, Loving U
  • Fan club name: STAR1

 

  1. WINNER 😥 😥 😥

winner

  • 5-member (now 4) boy group
  • Members: Kang Seungyoon -> leader, Kim Jinwoo, Lee Seunghoon, Song Minho (Mino), Nam Taehyun -> member until 2016
  • My Bias: Jinwoo
  • Bias-wrecker: Taehyun (but now he’s gone 😥 )
  • Why you’ll love them: They are one of the best new generation K-Pop artists. Their style of music is so unique and refreshing. It’s sad that YG cannot manage them properly. There is so much potential in this group and all of the members but he (YG) keeps them in the dungeon and doesn’t let them do the only thing they like, MUSIC. 😥
  • Songs I recommend: check out all their songs, they’re all good. 🙂 My faves are: Sentimental, Empty, Don’t Flirt and Baby Baby
  • Fan club name: InnerCircle

 

  1. CNBlue

cnblue

  • 4-member boy BAND (with emphasis on band, because they are not a singing-and-dancing type of group. They are a legit band, with vocalist, drummer, pianist, guitarist and all) -> genre: pop-rock
  • Members: Jung Yonghwa -> leader, vocalist, guitarist, pianist, Lee Jonghyun -> guitarist, vocalist, Kang Minhyuk -> drummer, Lee Jungshin -> bassist, rapper
  • My Bias: Minhyuk
  • Bias-wrecker: EVERYONE ELSE
  • Why you’ll love them: They are K-Pop giants. If you like tall guys, you’ll drool over this group. Their music is great too! Their songs are always nice to listen to. You’d wish they’ll play on your wedding day. 😉 (or you’ll marry one of them! 😀 )
  • Songs I recommend: Cinderella (can’t get that song out of my mind), Can’t Stop, I’m Sorry
  • Fan club name: BOICE (Blue and Voice combined)

 

  1. B.A.P.

bap

  • 6-member boy group
  • Members: Bang Yongguk -> leader, Kim Himchan, Jung Daehyun, Yoo Youngjae, Moon Jongup, Choi Junhong (Zelo)
  • My Bias: Daehyun (DAT FACE AND DAT VOICE)
  • Bias-wrecker: Jongup
  • Why you’ll love them: powerful dance moves, amazing rap skills (BYG is a rap god), meaningful and unique songs, Daehyun slaying high notes, JOngup’s and Zelo’s dancing skills
  • Songs I recommend: Warrior -> debut song, One Shot, Skydive, (MV is LIT!) Coffee Shop, 1004 (Angel)
  • Fan club name: BABY. Each member has their own fan club name as well. (AWESOME!) -> Bangster (BYG), Hime (Himchan), Daewon (Daehyun), Brainboxes (Youngjae), Moontos (Jongup), Jellies (Zelo)

 

  1. EXO

exo

  • 12-member (now 9) boy group
  • Members: EXO-K/ EXO-Korean-> Kim Junmyeon (Suho) -> leader, now overall leader, Byun Baekhyun, Park Chanyeol, Do Kyungsoo, Kim Jongin, Oh Sehun. EXO-M/ EXO-Mandarin -> Wu Yifan (Kris) -> leader, member until 2014, Luhan -> member until 2014, Huang Zitao (Tao) -> member until 2015, Kim Minseok (Xiumin), Zhang Yixing (Lay), Kim Jongdae (Chen)
  • My Bias: Baekhyun
  • Bias-wrecker: Kai (whom I’m actually starting to like more…)
  • Why you’ll love them: They’re probably the most popular new generation boy group. Despite members leaving and dating controversies, this group has great songs and powerful dances that everyone can easily get addicted to. This group is a powerhouse when it comes to talent, good looks and skills.
  • Songs I recommend: History -> debut song, MAMA, Miracles in December, Call me Baby, Love Me Right, Monster, Growl, Lucky One, Wolf
  • Fan club name: EXO-L (Exo-Lovers)

 

  1. Super Junior

suju

  • I don’t know the right number but I like to believe in OT15
  • Members: Park Jeongsu( Leeteuk)-> leader, Kim Heechul, Kim Jongwoon (Yesung), Kim Youngwoon (Kangin), Shin Donghee (Shindong), Lee Sungmin, Lee Hyukjae (Eunhyuk), Lee Donghae, Choi Siwon, Kim Ryeowook, Cho Kyuhyun. Super Junior M/ Super Junior Mandarin -> Zhou Mi, Liu Xia Hua (Henry/ Henry Lau). Former members -> Han Geng (Han Kyung)-> member until 2009, Kim Kibum -> member until 2010
  • My Bias: Eunhyuk
  • Bias-wrecker: Donghae
  • Why you’ll love them: another K-Pop legend, if you’ve never heard of “Sorry Sorry” then you missed half of your life 😀 MANY OPPAS TO CHOOSE FROM!
  • Songs I recommend: ALL SUJU SONGS ARE GREAT! My faves are: Mr. Simple, Sorry Sorry, No Other, Don’t Don, Marry U
  • Fan club name: ELF (EverLasting Friend)

 

  1. MAMAMOO

mamamoo

  • 4-member girl group
  • Members: Kim Yongsun(Solar) -> leader, Moon Byulyi (Moonbyul), Jung Wheein, Ahn Hyejin (Hwasa)
  • My Bias: Moonbyul (she makes me question my sexuality)
  • Bias-wrecker: Solar
  • Why you’ll love them: a nice refreshing break from the stereotypical Korean female groups, they don’t do overly cute or sexy concepts, their genre is retro, they are gorgeous, they have perfect harmonization and powerful vocals, truly a unique group everybody should listen to 🙂
  • Songs I recommend: ALL THEIR TITLE TRACKS ARE CATCHY, UPBEAT AND ADDICTING (Mr. Ambiguous, Piano Man, Um Oh Ah Yeah, You’re the Best, Decalcomanie)
  • Fan club name: MooMoo (“moo” is radish in Korean, their lightstick is shaped like a radish, WHICH IS SO CUUUUTE!)

 

  1. Day6

day6

  • 6-member (now 5) boy BAND (again with emphasis on BAND)
  • Members: Park Sungjin -> leader, guitarist, main vocalist, Brian Kang (Young K) -> bassist, rapper, vocalist, Park Jaehyung (Jae) -> main guitarist, vocalist, rapper,  Kim Wonpil -> synthesizer, keyboardist, vocalist , Yoon Dowoon -> drummer, Former member -> Im Junhyuk (keyboardist, vocalist)
  • My Bias: Wonpil
  • Bias-wrecker: Jae
  • Why you’ll love them: They are fairly new to the K-Pop scene but they are very talented musicians, which gains the attention of so many fans and listeners. I can’t wait to hear more from them. 🙂
  • Songs I recommend: Congratulations -> debut song, Letting Go
  • Fan club name: no official fan club name yet

 

  1. Seventeen

seventeen

  • 13-member boy group (originally 17, but 4 did not officially debut)
  • Members: Choi Seungcheol -> leader, Wen Junhui (Jun), Yoon Jeonghan, Hong Jisoo (Joshua), Kwon Soonyoung (Hoshi), Jeon Wonwoo, Lee Jihoon (Woozi), Lee Seokmin (DK), Kim Mingyu, Xu Ming Hao (The8), Boo Seungkwan, Hansol Vernon Chwe (Choi Hansol, Vernon), Lee Chan (Dino)
  • My Bias: Joshua, but I’m leaning to Wonwoo now…
  • Bias-wrecker: Mingyu
  • Why you’ll love them: They’re young, talented and handsome. (What more can you ask for?) They are divided into 3 teams (hip-hop, performance and vocal teams) and the leaders of each team are in charge of writing and composing their songs and raps; and choreographing their dances. Take note: They are YOUNG (majority are ’96 and ’97 liners) so this is AMAZING especially for a new group that debuted from a less known entertainment company.
  • Songs I recommend: Adore U -> debut song, Mansae, Pretty U, Healing, Boom Boom
  • Fan club name: Carat

 

  1. 2PM

2pm

  • 7-member (now 6) boy group
  • Members: Kim Min Jun (Jun.K), Nichkhun Buck Horvejkul (Nichkhun), Ok Taekyeon, Jang Wooyoung, Lee Junho, Hwang Chansung, Former member and leader -> Park Jaebum (Jay Park)
  • My Bias: Nichkhun
  • Bias-wrecker: Taecyeon
  • Why you’ll love them: Yet another K-Pop legend right here, fellas! Just listen to them. They’re awesome. Each member is successful on their own as well, including their former leader and member, Jay Park. 🙂
  • Songs I recommend: A.D.T.O.Y., Hands Up, Go Crazy, My House, I’m Your Man, Jay Park’s solo songs
  • Fan club name: HOTTEST (Yep. I agree. Hottest idols. Hottest fans. 😉 )

 

  1. After School

afterschool

  • 7-member (current, they have a “graduating” system in the group) girl group
  • Members: Kim Jungah -> leader, Kim Yujin (Uee),Oh Hyerin (Raina), Im Jinah (Nana), Park Sooyoung (Lizzy), Noh Yiyoung (E-young), Lee Kaeun, Fomer members/Graduates: Yoo Soyoung, Rebekah Kim (Bekah), Park Jiyoung (Kahi), Lee Jooyeon
  • My Bias: Jooyeon (so sad she graduated already)
  • Bias-wrecker: Nana and Kahi(SO DAMN PRETTY)
  • Why you’ll love them: They are one of the legendary girl groups in K-Pop. They also have several sub-units which feature their different sides and skills as artists.
  • Songs I recommend: Bang, In the Night Sky (AS Red), Flashback, Catallena and Shanghai Romance (Orange Caramel), First Love
  • Fan club name: Play Girlz

 

  1. BtoB

btob

  • 7-member boy group
  • Members: Seo Eunkwang -> leader, Lee Minhyuk, Lee Changsub, Im Hyunsik, Shin Donggeun (Peniel), Jung Ilhoon, Yook Sungjae, Former member -> Lee Minwoo
  • My Bias: Minhyuk
  • Bias-wrecker: Sungjae (he’s an amazing actor)
  • Why you’ll love them: I have to admit, I do not listen to their songs on a regular basis; but what I love about this group is their comic and variety skills. They are good hosts, MCs and gag artists. There’s always a very fun and happy vibe whenever I see this group. Also, Sungjae is a very good actor. I love all the dramas he’s starred in. I even enjoyed watching his We Got Married episodes with Joy. (Red Velvet) Minhyuk, my bias, is an athlete as well.
  • Songs I recommend: It’s Okay, I’ll be Your Man
  • Fan club name: Melody

 

  1. SNSD (Girls’ Generation)

snsd

  • 9-member (now 8) girl group
  • Members: Kim Taeyeon, Jung Sooyeon (Jessica) -> member until 2014, Lee Sunkyu (Sunny), Stephanie Hwang (Tiffany), Kim Hyoyeon, Kwon Yuri, Choi Sooyoung, Im Yoona, Seo Joohyun
  • My Bias: Taeyeon (SO PRETTYYYYYY)
  • Bias-wrecker: Jessica (OT9 Forever)
  • Why you’ll love them: They’re Girls’ Generaation, need I say more? They’re K-Pop goddesses, okay? 😉
  • Songs I recommend: Gee and Genie (to get into the hype), ballads (Divine, Indestructible, Time Machine, All My love is For You) to appreciate their powerful vocals and their newest releases (solo, sub-unit and group): Taeyeon’s I, Jessica’s Fly and Wonderland, Tiffany’s I Just Wanna Dance, Hyoyeon’s Mystery, TaeTiSeo’s Twinkle and Holler
  • Fan club name: Soweon (meaning “wish” or can be pronounced as “So One”)

 

Special Mentions: (since I figured this list was biased toward boy groups

  1. 2ne1
  2. KARA
  3. Secret
  4. Wonder Girls
  5. Girl’s Day
One thought on “My Top 20 K-Pop Groups (Personal List)

Leave a Reply

