The Series That Started It All (Playful Kiss and Other Korean Series You Will Surely Love)

One fine day in 2011, my friend introduced me to something I never knew would be such a huge part of my life today: K-dramas (aka the wonderful world of oppas or “OPPALAND”!) I just want to give a quick shout out to my all-time favorite drama and the first ever K-drama I binge-watched: Playful Kiss. (Korean ver.) No words can express how much that drama means to me and how it affected my life and made me a better person. (All K-dramas teach valuable life lessons btw, another reason to watch them. 😉 )Watching Playful Kiss also marked the start of my K-Pop obsession, given that the lead actor (Kim Hyun Joong) is a K-Pop idol. HE IS SO FREAKING HANDSOME. I CAN’T TAKE IT! So it is safe to say that Playful Kiss is the drama THAT STARTED IT ALL. It is the reason why I am who I am today, and I am proud of it. K-Pop is a way of life. It’s not just a simple hobby or leisure activity. Every true blue K-Pop fan knows that fact. This post would not be very long because I just want to share a little something about myself and I hope I could influence you to go check out K-Pop and K-dramas as well because trust me, they’re awesome! 😉

Why should you watch Playful Kiss? If you aren’t familiar with the Japanese (Itazura na Kiss: Love in Tokyo) and Taiwanese (It Started with a Kiss) versions of this drama, Playful Kiss is a 2010 romantic-comedy drama or television series starring Jung So Min (as Oh Ha Ni) and Kim Hyun Joong. (as Baek Seung Jo) It is basically about a girl who has the biggest crush on the most popular guy at school and all the efforts she makes in order for her crush to notice her. It is a very funny and quirky drama that could instantly lift someone’s spirit while giving valuable lessons about life, school, family and self. I watched this series when I was in my second year in high school (eight grade) and that time, this series was highly relatable for me and my best friend. We have our own crushes back then and we relate to Oh Ha Ni in so many ways. I even have my own Baek Seung Jo back then. (the person whom I only have eyes for but he never sees me. Charaught!) I hoped I could get noticed by him as well. (just like in the drama) But no, he didn’t. He never really noticed me. 😦 But that is all in the past. After all, dramas and movies cannot be confused with reality. I just have to accept the fact that I am no Oh Ha Ni. But I can be the heroine in my own story, and I don’t need a man (sabeeeeeehhhh?) to make me feel loved and complete. I just have to love myself and accept my own flaws and imperfections just like Oh Ha Ni did. Only time and fate will tell when I will finally meet the right person for me. (tuhraaaaaaay!)

If you are looking for other recommendations for Korean series and dramas to binge on, here are a few classics:

  1. Endless Love: Autumn in my Heart (2000)

aimh

(Promotional Poster for Autumn in my Heart)

-Watch out for: Song Hye Kyo (THIS WOMAN IS SERIOUSLY GOALS!)

-Get ready for: serious and heavy drama, lots of ugly crying

  1. Coffee Prince/ The First Shop of Coffee Prince (2007)

coffeeprince

(Promotional Poster for The First Shop of Coffee Prince)

-Watch out for: Gong Yoo and Yoon Eun Hye

-Get ready for: bromance and lots of cute lovey-dovey scenes, the lead actors have such good chemistry

  1. Princess Hours/ Goong (2006)

goong

(Picture of the Cast of Goong)

-Watch out for: Jung Il Woo and Yoon Eun Hye

-Get ready for: lots of laughter, this drama gives off a lot of good vibes, it is a feel-good drama with a cute love story (with a little bit of cultural element to it)

  1. Boys Over Flowers (2009)

bof

(Promotional Poster for Boys Over Flowers)

-Watch out for: Kim Hyun Joong (BAE), Lee Minho, Kim Bum and Kim Joon (SO MANY HANDSOME GUYS!), also Goo Hye Sun

-Get ready for: sweet and cute scenes, handsome faces, many oppas to choose from

  1. Full House (2004)

fullhouse

(Promotional Poster for Full House)

-Watch out for: Song Hye Kyo and Rain

-Get ready for: Seriously, with Song Hye Kyo and Rain as the lead actors, WHO WOULD WANT TO MISS THIS? A very light, romantic-comedy that will surely make anyone happy. And tell me why Rain and SHK still look the same even after 12 years?!

  1. Secret Garden (2010)

secretgarden

(Promotional Poster for Secret Garden)

-Watch out for (Ha Ji Won and Hyun Bin)

-Get ready for: the iconic “coffee kiss”, a little bit of fantasy (switching souls/bodies)

  1. Jumong (2016-2007)

jumong

(Promotional Poster for Jumong)

-Watch out for: Song Il Gook

-Get ready for: historical and cultural drama, action-filled and interesting storyline, great actors, one of the best and most popular Korean dramas of all time

  1. Jewel in the Palace/ Dae Jang Geum (2003)

jitp

(Promotional Poster for Jewel in the Palace in GMA 7- dubbed Filipino version)

-Watch out for: Lee Young Ae (THIS WOMAN IS ALSO GOALS!)

-Get ready for: lots of food!, it is a cultural and historical drama as well, girl power!

 

Obviously, there are a lot more shows and series that I could recommend (newer ones) but that can be too overwhelming if you are just starting to like or watch K-dramas so I just picked some of the classics. (that everyone will surely love) I hope this was helpful to you and I hope you’d start watching Korean dramas if you haven’t already because seriously, THEY’RE AMAZING! 🙂 Once you get into them, there’s no turning back! 😉 Trust me, it won’t be a waste of your time. (I’m totally not pushing you to do anything here, really 😉 ) I hope you guys have a wonderful day ahead. Stay happy and healthy. Annyeong! :*

Listen to K-Pop, it feels good.

Watch K-dramas, they’ll make your life better.

Leave a Reply

