My First Makeup Product Purchase: (The Face Shop Lovely Me:Ex Blush) Review and Swatches + A Little Backstory

Hello everyone! It’s Elynne and welcome to my blog! This is my first ever blog post! Yay! 😀

Speaking of firsts, I believe everyone’s first experiences are unforgettable. Who would forget their first kiss? First paycheck? First heartbreak? First crush? First anything. As long as it is first, I doubt if you’d ever forget it. So on the subject of firsts, let me tell you about my first ever makeup product. I’m not talking about my mom’s makeup which I played with during grade school and high school days; but the first ever makeup product I purchased myself, with my own money. #feelingproud

It’s none other than: THE FACE SHOP’S LOVELY ME:EX I MAKE YOU SWEETER BLUSH (shade: FUZZY PEACH) Such a long name, isn’t it? I’ll tell you how and why I got this blush in the first place and share with you my thoughts about it. Is it worth it? To whom do I recommend it? You know, basically my review of the product.

I am not only a K-pop addict, but a K-drama lover as well; and it would not be surprising if my reason for buying makeup is seeing those gorgeous actresses and their flawless makeup on screen. What really made me rush to my nearest The Face Shop branch to buy makeup was not a specific product this K-actress/idol/artist endorses but a specific “look” I wanted to achieve. I was watching “Prime Minister and I”; and I saw Im Yoona’s gorgeous face on television, and I was just mesmerized at how natural but sweet and innocent-looking her makeup was in that drama. So I told myself, I want to achieve that. I want to try to wear makeup not to cover any imperfection or blemish that I had back then; but to emphasize youthful and glowing complexion. And what I immediately thought of back then was a blush. I needed a blush, and a peach one at that. So I bought one, of course it has to be from a Korean brand because duh, we want to achieve the “Korean glow” so it only makes sense to buy from Korean brands. (The logic, Elynne)

The Face Shop’s blush in Fuzzy Peach is a matte light peach blush that is perfect for beginners because it is not extremely pigmented on first swipe but it is very buildable and blendable on the cheeks to achieve the desired color and pigmentation. The pan size is not too small and not too big; it lasts for 6 months or more depending on frequency of use. For 248 pesos, (I believe they already increased the price to 295 or 298 pesos) it is a reasonable purchase and I would definitely purchase again; considering The Face Shop won’t discontinue it. *crosses fingers*

I can say that I am truly impressed with myself; because back then, I had zero knowledge in makeup. As in, I know nothing. (Socrates) But my first ever makeup purchase turned out well; and that particular product is still in my stash and I still continue to use it up to this day. I just regret throwing the packaging of the first blush I purchased; since I already repurchased it, because I wanted to keep it for its sentimental value. Oh well…

Now that I’ve told you how I came across my first ever makeup product, let me share my review of this blush. For my reviews, I want to rate products in different categories and use different criteria in judging. And we’ll go from there. 🙂

CRITERIA:

PACKAGING – Is it cute? Is the packaging too bulky or too flimsy or sturdy enough? Does it get dirty easily? Do I see myself travelling with it? Is it pretty enough to give as a gift to someone?

PERFORMANCE – Is it easy to use/apply? Does it blend easily? Is it beginner-friendly? Do I feel pretty whenever I wear it? Is the color match perfect?

LONGEVITY – Can I wear it for events? How about for extreme outdoor activities? How often do I need to reapply? Is the SPF high enough?

VARIETY – Is the shade selection wide? Do I see it working for different skin tones/colors?

VALUE FOR MONEY – If it is affordable, I have lower expectations but I prefer it over luxury/expensive products for which I have higher expectations. Would I repurchase it?

For this review, I would be including another shade of The Face Shop blush, Orange Syrup, which is a shimmery orange blush/blush topper. 🙂

Product Name

CRITERIA

Packaging

Performance Longevity Variety

Value for Money

TFS blush (Fuzzy Peach) 4/5  4.5/5 4/5 4/5 5/5
TFS blush (Orange Syrup)  4/5 3.5/5 3.5/5 4/5 5/5

picsart_1478748539701

TFS blush (Fuzzy Peach)

Overall Rating: 4.3/5

PACKAGING – Packaging is cute but I find that over time, the screws get a little bit loose so I cannot bring it with me when I travel. I also think it will be a nice gift item because of the pretty packaging.

PERFORMANCE – It is easy to apply and blend onto the cheeks. I also find the color buildable. I do not necessarily have to be light-handed whenever I use this product. The color is also universal and can work for many skin tones, but primarily fair-light medium skin tones.

LONGEVITY – It is not the most long lasting blush out there, but it lasts a pretty good amount of time. It also does not get patchy or blotchy throughout the day.

VARIETY – The Face Shop came out with a lot of shades for their single blush and I appreciate that everyone can find their perfect blush from their collection. The colors are all very pretty and will suit different tastes, preferences and skin tones.

VALUE FOR MONEY – For less than 300 PHP, (<6 USD) The Face Shop’s blushes are affordable but are good quality blushes. I would keep repurchasing this blush and this shade in particular.

picsart_1478748645158

TFS blush (Orange Syrup)

Overall Rating:4/5

PACKAGING – Packaging is cute but I find that over time, the screws get a little bit loose so I cannot bring it with me when I travel. I also think it will be a nice gift item because of the pretty packaging.

PERFORMANCE – It is easy to apply and blend onto the cheeks; but because this shade is shimmery, I do not find the color buildable. I do not have to be light-handed whenever I use this product and I do not need to apply more than one layer, otherwise I may look like I have flecks of glitter on my face. The color can work for many skin tones, but primarily fair-light medium skin tones with yellow undertone, since this color can look pretty orange. I also use this as a blush topper. For deeper skin tones, this can work as a highlighter.

LONGEVITY – It is not the most long lasting blush out there, but it lasts a pretty good amount of time. It also does not get patchy or blotchy throughout the day. But I find the shimmer particles disappearing or wearing off during the day.

VARIETY – The Face Shop came out with a lot of shades for their single blush and I appreciate that everyone can find their perfect blush from their collection. The colors are all very pretty and will suit different tastes, preferences and skin tones. I just prefer the matte blushes over the shimmery ones.

VALUE FOR MONEY – I got mine for a cheaper price from Ms. Mei Satsuki (190 + 50 shipping fee) and I think it is a great find and a very affordable one as well. I would not recommend this shade to everyone but The Face Shop has more shades to offer so I believe everyone can find their own shade from the selection.

SOME SWATCHES:

picsart_1478748974584

     Of course, doing swatches of blushes do them no justice but just in case you are wondering how they look on the skin when swatched; or you just want to see the color of the blush, here are some swatches for you guys. (in natural lighting, of course) On the left is Fuzzy Peach (matte) and on the right is Orange Syrup (shimmer). (Edit: Curious to see my other blushes? Take a peak at my Blush Collection: 2016) 🙂

Overall, I love The Face Shop’s blushes and because it was my first ever makeup purchase; it will forever have a special place in my heart. Just like my other “firsts”. How about you? What is your first ever makeup purchase? Or any memorable first experience in your life? Tell me on the comments down below. Thank you for stopping by and have a great day ahead. Annyeong! 🙂

One thought on “My First Makeup Product Purchase: (The Face Shop Lovely Me:Ex Blush) Review and Swatches + A Little Backstory

Leave a Reply

